Recruitment agencies

Discussion in 'Careers' started by CA2 student, Jul 12, 2007.

1. CA2 student

CA2 student Member

Hi

What do you guys think of recruitment agencies? I'm part qualified and not sure whether it's best to use them or go it alone. Does your employer recruit candidates directly or do they only take people from agencies?

When I was a graduate I found the actuarial agencies were fairly useless and they didn't even get me any interviews, but I'm not sure if the situation is different now I have experience. Once part qualified, did you get your job by applying directly to companies or using an agency? I assume using an agency might be easier?

Thanks for any help :)

2. bystander

bystander Member

There is no universal right answer.

If you see a direct advert (eg in Yellow Pages, or possibly on each individual co. website), then I think doing it yourself proves you are keen on the job/co. Too many recruiters scatter gun CVs everywhere!

But other cos will use only agencies, and worse still, some don't use all agencies but retain services solely of 2 tops.

S it depends how choosy you are about your move.

Good luck. (PS I've done it by both methods so either can work)

3. Does anyone else get annoyed at how many recruiter phonecalls they get at work?

4. 4EverStudent

4EverStudent Member

Yes - I just tell them that I have only been in my current job for a few months and so am not looking to move; only the most unscrupulous one try to push it any further after that!

5. avanbuiten

avanbuiten Member

Not at all. If they call up while my manager is listening it can only help me achieve a bigger pay rise ... providing they want to retain me which I think they do.

6. I'm pretty sure if all recruitment consultants disappeared off the face of the earth we'd somehow struggle on...

7. ExamFatigued

ExamFatigued Member