1. Posts in the subject areas are now being moderated. Please do not post any details about your exam for at least 3 working days. You may not see your post appear for a day or two. See the 'Forum help' thread entitled 'Using forums during exam period' for further information. Wishing you the best of luck with your exams.
    Dismiss Notice

Online Exam Procedures

Discussion in 'CS2' started by Travis Yates, Jan 13, 2019.

Tags:
  1. Travis Yates

Travis Yates Member

Hi All,

I'm having trouble finding out the exact procedure for the online exam for CS2. Does anyone know how it will work?

• Is it open book?
    • Will we have access to the internet, specific reading materials or our own notes?
    • Will it need to be supervised by a qualified Actuary?
    • Can I do it from home or the office?
    I'm an Australian student studying through the Australian Actuaries Institute. But all our exams for part I use the UK exams. The times for the offline component is always in Australian time. Will that be the same for the online exam.

Ie. Will it be on Monday morning the 8th of April Australian time?

2. Calm

Calm Ton up Member

I intend to sit mine in NTU, and the online exam CS2B will start at 10am UK time regardless of your timezone (5pm Singapore time; somewhere between 5-7pm Australian time depending on where you live within Australia). CS2A is based on your own timezone.

According to this document from iFoA, you can use your own personal notes and course materials (no internet or imported templates), without the need for supervision; you can also do it from home or office.

Last edited: Jan 14, 2019
  3. Travis Yates

Travis Yates Member

Any ideas what "written or electronic reference material provided as part of the exam day guidance documentation." might actually mean. Are we not going to know specifically what we can reference until exam time?

4. Calm

Calm Ton up Member