Study advice!

Discussion in 'SA3' started by pmullan1, Jan 15, 2018.

1. pmullan1

pmullan1 Member

Hi,

I am currently studying for SA3. I have read the notes once and currently I am going through these again. Eventually my goal is to know them inside out. I will then do past papers from 10 plus years and focus on exam technique. I am tempted to forget about futher reading and hope that my general work knowledge will carry me through!! However I have only 2.5 years experience to date.

Any thoughts / advice??

Thanks in advance.

2. bystander

bystander Member

Congrats on having got through the reading once at this stage. Regarding your specific question, I would say there aren't many marks on an SA level paper for bookwork learning. You do need to know it but that's not the be and end all. It really all is about proving understanding and practical application. So 2.5 years practical experience is not a lot to fall back on, and with all the will in the world you won't cover everything in the office. So you do need to do some wider reading I think - maybe pick areas you have less experience of. For example, if you have lots of valuation type experience, look at other areas etc. Yes there is a lot to be said for practising technique but sometimes you aren't the best judge of how you are doing. So I highly recommend getting second opinion be it from a qualified actuary - ideally someone who themselves have recently passed SA3 or other methods as mock exam with marking. All depends on your budget if self funding. But I'm sure others will offer different advice and you have to find the solution that works for you.

3. tiger

tiger Ton up Member

Well done on the work so far. I agree exam technique is critical. The main weakness I see with your approach is you may only cover items that were historically topical and miss out on current 'hot topics'.
    As well as the usual institute sources (e.g. giro) I found publications from industry interesting, e.g.