Actuarial Humour

Discussion in 'Off-topic' started by John Lee, Sep 26, 2005.

1. Cymro Card

Cymro Card Member

This did the rounds when I was at uni - so probably more a maths "joke" (and I use the term very loosely) than an actuary one....

"Let epsilon be less than zero..."

I'll get my coat! :(

2. leafy

leafy Member

Should I be ashamed that I laughed at that :confused:

3. avanbuiten

avanbuiten Member

I did a maths degree and I remember using epsilon but I simply cannot remember what the hell it was for?

Please help me out here! I know it looked a bit like a capital E but that's all I can remember!

4. leafy

leafy Member

Epsilon is the fifth (i think) Greek letter that does indeed look a little like an E. (I've tried to attach a picture if it works!)

It is used in mathematics as a "very very small number that is close to, but not, 0".
    An extremely large number of mathematical theories use "Let epsilion be strictly greater than 0".

Sticking this into mathematical formula you can then calculate an answer where it might not otherwise have been possible, and then "Let epsilon tend to zero" to derive the required result. It is also useful for calculating the effect of minor peturbations.

For an example (and I apologise that it is a pathetic example):

The derivative of y = x ^ 2
    gives 2 . x
    We know that there is a "turning point" at 2 . x = 0 => x = 0

So to find out if it is a minimum or maximum we could differentiate again...or we could set x = 0 + epsilon and x = 0 - epsilon in the original expression. (With epsilon strictly greater than zero).

Both of these will give y = (epsilon) ^ 2 which will always be positive. Since when x = 0, y = 0 we can imply that this is a minimum and whichever direction you move you go 'upwards'.

Maths lesson for the day over :)
    Sorry it wasn't funny!

[What is the contour integral of Western Europe? 0, because all the Poles are in the East!! :D ]

Leafy

Attached Files:

• E.JPG
      E.JPG