1. Posts in the subject areas are now being moderated. Please do not post any details about your exam for at least 3 working days. You may not see your post appear for a day or two. See the 'Forum help' thread entitled 'Using forums during exam period' for further information. Wishing you the best of luck with your exams.
    Dismiss Notice

Becoming an actuary as a mature student

Discussion in 'Careers' started by mikeyb, Jul 18, 2016.

1. mikeyb

mikeyb Member

Hi, everyone I am new to the Forum and this is my first post so please be kind! I'm going into my second year of University studying Mathematics and Statistics as I want to become an actuary once I finish my degree. I'm a mature student and will be 34 by the time I start applying for Graduate roles and am looking for some advice on what I could be doing now to differentiate myself against the other applicants. I was looking at maybe sitting the CT1 as a non-member and would probably do that next year before my workload bumps up in the my last few years at University, but was wondering if that makes any difference. The cost of doing this I calculated to be between £600-£700 and I don't mind investing in myself if there will be a good result by doing this exam. I'm not worried about workload as I can handle a large workload, I sat extra credits last year and passed everything at over 85% and have won a few small awards this year for Mathematics and Presenting (he boasts :)).