1. Posts in the subject areas are now being moderated. Please do not post any details about your exam for at least 3 working days. You may not see your post appear for a day or two. See the 'Forum help' thread entitled 'Using forums during exam period' for further information. Wishing you the best of luck with your exams.
    Dismiss Notice

Salaries in South Africa

Discussion in 'South Africa' started by RaViShankar, Mar 16, 2013.

1. RaViShankar

RaViShankar Member

How much should one expect to earn in South Africa, having cleared CT1-8, my new company has plans of moving to Johannesburg?

2. tatos

tatos Member

Friends of mine who have graduated from university over the years, and who have had exemption for all the 8 CT's, have tended to earn in the R20k-R25k range per month. I'm guessing that if you have quite a bit of experience you could earn a bit more?

3. Imidinho

Imidinho Member

It depends in which sector of financial services you're working for. I graduated from university with 7 CT's and I got paid R17025 per month when I began working for a major life insurance company in South Africa.

4. Edwin

Edwin Member

Wasn't that a long time ago? Is that R17025 Total cost to company including benefits like pension etc?

5. tatos

tatos Member

That's a good point you raised Edwin. The figures I mentioned in the post before that are cost to company from what I know. I also knew of someone who started out at one of the big insurers on R16000, having had 5 exemptions. And this was some 4 years ago. And on the other end of the scale I knew someone who started off on R29000, having had 8 exemptions, but who was top of the class and working for a well known international company in finance and investments. So I guess it really is very circumstantial..

Last edited by a moderator: Mar 17, 2013
  6. Imidinho

Imidinho Member