Useful Masters degree

Discussion in 'Careers' started by aditya, Jan 28, 2014.

1. aditya

aditya Member

Hi

I need some advice on taking up a relevant masters course.
    I am an under graduate in economics with a year of actuarial experience in GI. I have cleared the CT level papers.
    .I am not much interested in taking up a masters in actuarial as most of them deal with the CTs and hence I am quite doubtful about its value add.
    Any suggestions on which courses would be relevant and also beneficial?

Last edited by a moderator: Jan 28, 2014
  2. Shillington

Shillington Member

Why do you need to do a masters at all? If you're not doing it for exemptions, surely you should just do it in something that you're interested in. If not, I don't see why you don't just go and get a job?

3. sonnyshook

sonnyshook Member

As I see it..for an actuary, the only types of degrees that can add value are

• any MBA at the top schools Harvard, Wharton, Stanford, INSEAD or London Business School. These can provide entry to inv. banks, investment firms/funds or a generalist role in an insurance company
    • any other Financial Engineering/Maths Masters at a "top 10 in the world" University
    • or a PhD ( if you are masochist)

However I think you should stick it out and qualify and then consider your options.

Last edited by a moderator: Jan 29, 2014
  4. aditya

aditya Member

That sounds really good.But I don't think I can get into any of them with only a year of experience.

Hopefully I'm not!!

Exactly!!:D I have been bombarded by advices from people that having a masters is "recommended" and it somewhat threw me off track.

5. manish.rex

manish.rex Member

A course in Financial Engineering may add value, provided that you are interested in investments.

6. Calum

Calum Member

It depends a lot where you are in the world, what career path you are pursuing and what the local market expects of candidates for particular roles. So consider these things carefully first!