From New york sitting for UK ST2 and SA2.

Discussion in 'SA2' started by cipherap15, Sep 19, 2012.

1. cipherap15

cipherap15 Member

I'm new to the faculty exams and have never written one. I've completed all the preliminary exams through the US SOA system which are the equivalent of all the CT exams and CA exams. I've decided to write ST2 and SA2 because you get exempted for the equivalent upper level exams over here. In the US you cannot sit for both exams in one sitting and that's why I'm taking them in the UK.

Mark Willder from the BPP site was very helpful. Is there any advice you guys can give me for sitting for both exams. It's very difficult to find any information regarding these exams in the US(the information is not accessible because no students take the exams). For all the games to date, I would just ask co-workers, students etc about the best technique to pass. For these two I have nothing. For eg, how many hours to study approximately, what do I need to bring to the exams(any tables, calculators), what's the best way to study when tackling both. Just anything and everything. I'm a blank slate right now.

Thank in a advance to anybody who can shed some light for me.

2. smSA2

smSA2 Keen member

You will need Acted study material to prepare for the exams. This will include course notes, revision booklets, etc. I will recommend to spend more time to do the past exam papers rather than going through the notes.

The number of hours to study depends on how quickly you can digest the information. My suggestion will be to finish revising the notes at least two months before the exam and dedicate the last two months practising exam papers. Examiners’ reports are very helpful in understanding the sort of answer the examiners are expecting.

SA2 assumes knowledge of ST2 so you will need to finish reading ST2 before you start SA2.

3. Elroy

Elroy Member

Do you work using UK regulations?