Should I stop taking exams

Discussion in 'Careers' started by Khoa, Dec 16, 2020.

1. Khoa

Khoa Member

Hi all,
    I’m 25 joined IFoA in 2018
    I Just received my CS2 September 2020 result of 55 and failed by 1-2 marks (first sitting). I cannot possibly you think what went wrong I have done 20 past papers both ct6 and ct4 and probably put in 60 more serious study hours than IFoA’s guide..

Studying for exams has been very very exhausting especially during COVID-19 and I felt like giving up. My life has been miserable ever since I joined IFoA, the worst part is that I kept having anxiety and causes me to lose sleep almost every night and often get migraines.

I kept telling myself that I am not smart enough and even if I try my very best I still failed especially that I don’t think I have a chance of passing the STs and CAs exams. My partner and I have been arguing allot too over not spending enough time together because I studied too much, don’t get me wrong she does support my career progression but my anxiety has a big impact in our relationship because I’ve become quite negative and unhappy most of the time.

However I have to say I am now in a good job with good pay all because of the past exams I have taken (ct1,2,3,4,5,7) so I no longer have to worry about the future finances. The main reason that keep me going is because my family background where everyone in my family are accomplished in their own field and my parents would be disappointed if I stop taking exams

The pros has been
    1. Better Job security
    2. Higher pay
    Cons
    1. Health issues
    2. Broken relationship
    3. Family pressure
    I couldn’t sleep this whole night and woke up 4am started thinking about my life, am I overreacting or is this normal? I appreciate if anyone could share your views or experiences and hopefully give me some advise on what I should do.

GG_3012 likes this.
  2. limamichelle

limamichelle Active Member