1. Posts in the subject areas are now being moderated. Please do not post any details about your exam for at least 3 working days. You may not see your post appear for a day or two. See the 'Forum help' thread entitled 'Using forums during exam period' for further information. Wishing you the best of luck with your exams.
    Dismiss Notice

ST0 exemption for Master Dissertation

Discussion in 'General study / exams' started by moreoomph, Feb 8, 2012.

1. moreoomph

moreoomph Member

Has anyone ever got an ST0 exempion with a Masters Dissertation? What type of topics did you write about?

I completed a dissertation (MSc Finance) on the subject of the housing market bubble and was wondering if anyone had any opinion on whether it would be eligible for exemption. I did a regression analysis on different variables (inflation, salaries, unemplyment, etc) until I found a suitable model which I then explained. Any idea whether this would be worth an ST0 exemption?

Thanks

2. bystander

bystander Member

Absolutely no idea but there is nothing to lose by trying as the modelling and economic principles seems a reasonable topic.

3. It's worth giving a go. But the topic doesn't seem to be enough for ST0. I think it might require more than just modelling. But obviously nothing to lose for applying.....the worst is no...and take an ST....LOL

4. moreoomph

moreoomph Member

Not the answer I wanted but certainly the answer I was expecting. I'll give it a go just in case.

Thanks!

5. johnpe21

johnpe21 Member

hi moreoomph

Could you please tell me whether you did actually apply, as I am in similar position like you?

thanks

6. moreoomph

moreoomph Member

Yes, I applied and received this exemption!

Best of luck

7. johnpe21

johnpe21 Member

thanks a lot for replying! Could you please tell me whether you sent with your application a letter from an actuary stating your dissertation's relevance to the actuarial field??

Thanks a lot again for your help

8. moreoomph