Basic reserving question

Discussion in 'SP2' started by Joseph Barnett, Sep 5, 2019.

1. This question perhaps belongs more in the old CT5 but I don't remember it being addressed there when I studied it.

In CT5, I believe we had three bases:

Realistic/best estimate: what the company expects to happen.
    Pricing: more prudent than realistic to generate profit.
    Reserving: more prudent still, in order to manage risk and smooth profit emergence.

Now in the absence of interest rates, the reserving basis does not do anything - it just changes when the profit emerges. The amount of profit is determined by the difference between the pricing basis and actual experience (which should be close to the realistic basis if the company has done a good job). So that all makes sense.

In SP2, it is mentioned that reserving is now typically done on a realistic basis, with the risk allowed for in solvency capital requirements; the idea being that the two together will provide enough prudence.

Now, my question is this: if the company is expecting to make a profit, does this not mean that reserves in respect of all policies (or at least the profitable ones) will be negative? Does that then mean that as soon as a profitable policy is written, it will show on the balance sheet as an immediate increase in net assets (ignoring the SCR)?

Assuming I haven't misunderstood anything there, I guess I'm just wondering why this is becoming the preferred approach, instead of just using a prudent reserving basis (which seems more intuitive to me). I guess it's easier to calculate diversification etc. in the SCR than it is for policy level reserves, and maybe it's easier to regulate since it's not so product specific. Are there any other reasons?