Career change - Accountant to Actuary

Discussion in 'Careers' started by StCoach, Jul 14, 2016.

1. StCoach

StCoach Member

I am a chartered accountant strongly considering a career change to become an actuary. I am beginning to do some more research and think I will sit CT1 in April and look for trainee positions and look to make the switch in a year. I would have a very strong academic background in economics (I took as much quantitative as I could at uni and did very well) but I am now 30 so it has been a few years.

Is there anyone who has made a similar switch from an accounting background and would have any advice? I have seen stories of many career changers from education / engineering / etc. but no accountants so would be keen to hear experiences of others out there if there are any. There would seem to be some limited exemptions for chartered accountants so I imagine there might be some!

2. bystander

bystander Member

I haven't done it but having both qualifications could be attractive although how you go about maintaining cpd on both would be a challenge I think. Yes indeed, both disciplines require maths, with actuarial also needing good statistics. Your economics also would certainly not be wasted as will your practical business skills you will have. Testing the water with ct1 studying independently is a good idea. BE prepared for the question why do you want to switch as its bound to come up and think carefully about the type of company you want to train in. I'd say it's definitely not impossible.

StCoach likes this.
  3. rans07

rans07 Member

I have done it. I am an ACA qualified chartered accountant who has recently qualified as an FIA. It took me 4.5 years to qualify and I started in my late 20s. I got an ST0 and CT2 exemption, which you get for being an accountant.