Welcome

Discussion in 'Other countries' started by Simon James, May 8, 2008.

1. Simon James

Simon James ActEd Tutor Staff Member

Hello and welcome to this new forum. We hope this will be a place for you to discuss being an actuarial student outside the UK with fellow students and to share similar problems and experiences.

2. MindFull

MindFull Ton up Member

Thanks!

As my name indicates, I'm a student in Jamaica who works at an insurance company (not as an actuary :( )
    Anyone else from "other" countries?

3. Kolonel

Kolonel Member

Exams

How/where do you sit your exams then?

4. MindFull

MindFull Ton up Member

oh there's an 'exam centre' which is really an actuarial consultancy office. The kool thing about is that I'm usually the only one taking my exam. :)

5. Kolonel

Kolonel Member

That's good. No destractions.

6. Genesiss

Genesiss Member

From East africa

Hi
    I work for an insurance company in one fo the East African Capital cities.
    We do not have the advantages of UK students i.e. tutorials etc that enhance your chances of passing the exams. Most of the time you only get to disocver in the exam room that you were ill -prepared for it.:mad:
    Would appreciate some exam/study tips in this forum:)
    cheers

7. WHS

WHS Member

Hvae you ever considered attending a webinar? These are useful for exam tips and you can ask the tutor questions about topics that you have trouble with.

8. hi

Hi i am new to the forum and to writing exams as well. i work in Zimbabwe and we dont have the benefit of tutorials and webinars are kinda difficult cos our technology is a little behind. i jusat want to know how others deal with being in a black hole-aside from having notes- you have little else to aid you in passing the exams:(

9. hi